PhD Prize 2016

This year the PhD prize for the most outstanding PhD in Danish Astronomy 2016 will be handed out at the Annual Danish Astronomy Meeting 30-31 May, 2017.

We advise all supervisors of PhD students who finished their thesis at a Danish University in 2016 to provide IDA with the following: A short letter of recommendation (1 page max):

- Stating outstanding scientific achievements

- Stating the impact of the thesis within the field of astronomy

- Stating the candidates future prospects and level of independence

- Stating possible outstanding activities, awards, grants, prices (related to science but not necessarily to the work itself)

Additionally, the supervisor should provide a CV (1 page) made by the student (highlighting the education and achievements) and a list of publications.

The prize committee will be the SOC for the Annual Meeting 2017; Christa Gall, Christoffer Karoff, Mikkel Nørup Lund, Pablo Benítez Llambay and Sandra Raimundo and 3 of the PhD students nominated will be invited to give a talk and present their work at the Meeting 30-31 May, 2017.

Please provide the information by sending an email to by 17 April, 2017.